 JANUARY 2017
LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION TO OPERATE

A PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATIONAL

INSTITUTION IN THE STATE OF ARIZONA

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS:

INDEXED AND TABBED ACCORDING TO THE

APPLICATION CONTENT LIST

FOR EACH CAMPUS LOCATION
Submission Deadline: On or Before NOVEMBER 1, 2016
After NOVEMBER 1, 2016……… $100 per day late fee

PLEASE BE ADVISED, PURSUANT TO:

A.R.S. 41-1030(B): "An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact.  A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition."

A.R.S. 41-1030(D):"This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state.  The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section"

A.R.S. 41-1030(E): "A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section.  A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy."

Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education

1400 W. Washington, Room 260

Phoenix, AZ 85007

Important Memorandum Regarding 

JANUARY 2017 License Renewal

JANUARY 2017 License Renewal Applications are due
 no later than NOVEMBER 1, 2016
To:
JANUARY 2017 License Renewal Cycle – 

Your License expires on December 31, 2016
From:
Teri Stanfill, Executive Director

Date:
September 1, 2016
Your 2016 license expires on December 31, 2016. The JANUARY 2017 License Renewal Packet is available on the agency web site at www.azppse.gov under the “For Institutions” Tab and “License Renewal”.    

1. A License Renewal Application is required for EACH INDIVIDUAL CAMPUS LOCATION and a license fee is required for each separate application.

2. The License Renewal Packet(s) must be indexed and tabbed in the exact order as the “Content Requirement” list. The “Content Requirement” list should be included in

Each renewal application.  Disregard all old forms.  

3. Send only (1) copy of each License Renewal Application (Do not bind or use protective sheets).

4. Ensure all materials reflect the correct website for the State Board: www.azppse.gov
If you do not have Internet access, or if you have difficulty accessing this web site, please contact this office immediately and a packet will be mailed to you.

Renewal packet requests should be directed to:

AZ Licensing Department

1400 W. Washington, Room 260, Phoenix, AZ  85007

or by calling 602-542-5720 or LicensingManager@azppse.gov
Your completed 2017 License Renewal Application is due no later than
NOVEMBER 1, 2016. This is 60-days prior to the expiration of your license as required by A.A.C. Rule R4-39-102 (D)(4) or R4-39-102(E)(2).

If you require assistance, please contact AZ Licensing Department at 602-542-5720, LicensingManager@azppse.gov or Keith Blanchard at 602-542-5769, keith.blanchard@azppse.gov
License Renewals received after NOVEMBER 1, 2016 WILL be assessed a late fee of $100.00 per day.

JANUARY 2017 - LICENSE RENEWAL PACKET
LICENSE APPLICATION CONTENT REQUIREMENTS

The following information, materials, and forms are required as part of the License Renewal Application.  The license renewal application packet must be submitted in the order listed below, INDEXED AND TABBED.  Addenda must be attached to the back of the applicable form.

The License Renewal Application, all required forms and renewal fee are required for each individual Arizona campus location, indexed and tabbed according to this list.

Completed
Tab
Description

_____
1.
License Renewal Fee: Review the enclosed Renewal Fee Schedule

and submit the fee that corresponds to the Gross Tuition Revenue for the last Fiscal Year End.

_____

2.
LR Form 1.Application: form completed, signed and notarized.

______
2.
LR Form 2A and 2B: Completed Enrollment Data excel spreadsheet 

for Vocational and/or Degree Programs.  The Enrollment Data must add up correctly.  
____________ 4A.
RETENTION AND PLACEMENT RATE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR ACCREDITED INSTITUTIONS: 

1. If an Accredited institution is NOT required to provide retention or placement rate calculations, the institution is NOT required to provide the retention or placement rate on the Enrollment Data Form LR Form 2A and 2B.
2. If an accredited institution IS required to provide a retention or placement rate calculation, either by program or an institutional placement rate, this information must also be provided to State Board.

a. The reporting period for this data shall be as required by the accrediting agency.

b. List the accrediting agency’s retention rate: _______

c. List the accrediting agency’s placement rate: _______

___________ 4B.
RETENTION AND PLACEMENT RATE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR NON-ACCREDITED INSTITUTIONS: REQUIRED TO PROVIDE THE RETENTION AND PLACEMENT RATE ACCORDING TO THE ENROLLMENT DATA FORM LR2A and 2B.
____
5.
Program Information: CAREFULLY REVIEW THE 
INSTITUTION’S PROGRAM INFORMATION IN THE ONLINE 
DIRECTORY OF THE BOARD’S WEBSITE.  COPY THE 
PROGRAM INFORMATION AND PROVIDE ANY REVISIONS 
REQUIRED TO THE PROGRAM NAME, CLOCK/CREDIT 
HOURS AND TUITION + FEES.

_____
6.
Accredited institutions must submit proof of current status of

Accreditation, including approval letter and related documents.  If applicable, ANY ACTIONS regarding additional reporting requirements, show/cause or probation MUST BE DISCLOSED.

_____

7.
LR Form 2.Surety Bond or Cash Deposit or Letter of Credit

Submit a copy of the original Surety Bond or Letter of Credit with the contact information. An invoice from your insurance company is not acceptable. Cash deposits: provide copies of the Original documentation.

_____
8.
FISCAL YEAR-END FINANCIAL STATEMENTS – REVISED REQUIREMENTS EFFECTIVE JUNE 4, 2016 TO COMPLY WITH R4-39-108.  

REFER TO LR INFORMATION FORM 1: R4-39-108(F)(G) and (H) FOR FURTHER INFORMATION – changes specifically for licensees with GTR less than $400,000.00.

_____
Accredited Institutions: Submit the Title 4 Student Financial Assistance Program Compliance Audit.

	CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS MUST BREAK OUT THE FINANCIAL INFORMATION SEPARATELY FOR EACH ARIZONA CAMPUS LOCATION – Financial statements for the Arizona location for the fiscal year-end and current in-house statement if the fiscal year-end statements are older than 6 months are also required.


_____              9.
PROOF OF LIABILITY INSURANCE – REVISED REQUIRMENTS EFFECTIVE JUNE 4, 2016 TO COMPLY WITH R4-39-108.

REFER TO LR INFORMATION FORM 1: R4-39-108(E) FOR FURTHER INFORMATION --- changes specifically for licensees with GTR less than $500,000.00.

_____                10.
Submit a copy of your institutional Student Grievance Procedure to comply with R4-39-104(D)(9). Identify all institutional publications in which the Student Grievance Procedure is published.  Refer to LR Information 2.Student Grievance Procedure for more information.

_____

  11.
Refund Policy: Submit one copy of the Refund Policy to comply with

A.A.C. Rule R4-39-308 and rule A.A.C. R4-39-404.  Refer to 

LR Information 2.Refund Policy for more information.

_____
If not accredited, ensure compliance with A.A.C. R4-39-404(A), (B)(D)(E).

_____  If accredited, ensure compliance with  A.A.C. R4-39-404(A)(B)(C) 

_____
12.
Enrollment Agreement:  To comply with A.A.C. Rule R4-39-401(A)(1).

The Enrollment Agreement must be submitted with LR Form 4.

Enrollment Agreement Checklist AND THE ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT MUST BE CROSS-REFERENCED WITH THE CHECKLIST.
NOTE:   The enrollment agreement must include, at a minimum, language to include the 3-Day Cancellation Notice and 30-day refund pursuant to A.A.C. R4-39-404(A)(B).

A sample Enrollment Agreement can be found under

LR Information 4.Enrollment Agreement (Sample ONLY)
_____

 13.
Institutional Catalog and Student Handbook (if applicable):

The Catalog must be submitted with LR Form 5.Catalog Checklist AND THE CATALOG MUST BE CROSS-REFERENCED TO THE CHECKLIST. 

_____
If not accredited, to comply with A.A.C. Rule R4-39-301. 
_____
If accredited, to comply with accreditation criteria. 

The Catalog may be submitted on a CD; accordingly, a hard copy would not be required, but the checklist must be provided.
_____

 14.
Officers/Administrators:  Submit  only a LIST of current Executive 

Officers/Administrators, however, if a current Executive Officer or Administrator Resume is not on file with the State Board, submit LR Form 6.Executive Resume.  Ensure the Social Security Supplement is included. 
Note:  Non-accredited Institutions are required to notify the State Board

within 10 days of any change in personnel pursuant to R4-39-302 and

submit resume forms for new employees.  

_____               15.     Faculty - Submit only a LIST of all faculty members to include degree earned, course/program taught and campus location, however, if a current faculty resume is not on file with the State Board, submit LR Form 7.Instructor Resume.  

The list of Faculty may be submitted on a CD; accordingly, a hard copy would not be required.

Note:  Non-accredited institutions are required to notify the State Board within 10 days in the event of a change in personnel pursuant to 
R4-39-303 and submit the Instructor Resume Form. 

ATTENTION:  THE LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION PACKET MUST BE INDEXED AND TABBED AS OUTLINED ON THIS FORM.  THANK YOU.

RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE

A PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION IN THE STATE OF ARIZONA

RENEWAL FEE SCHEDULE

Total Annual Gross Tuition Revenue Earned as of the Licensee’s most recent Fiscal Year End for each campus location.

ALL ARIZONA LICENSED PROGRAMS


Renewal  Fee

(A licensing fee is required for each separate campus location)

1.  Less Than $50,000






$  600.00

2.  $50,000 to $249,999





$  750.00

2.  $250,000 to $499,999





$1,000.00

4.  $500,000 to $999,999





$1,300.00

5.  $1,000,000 to $2,499,999





$1,650.00

6.  $2,500,000 to $6,999,999





$2,000.00

7.  $7,000,000 and over





$2,300.00

*Fee Increase Effective October 1, 1996

PLEASE SUBMIT THE RENEWAL FEE THAT CORRESPONDS TO THE ANNUAL GROSS TUITION EARNED IN THE INSTITUTIONS’ LAST FISCAL YEAR END. 

QUESTIONS REGARDING FEE DETERMINATION SHOULD BE ADDRESSED TO THE BOARD OFFICE. 
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