ARIZONA STATE BOARD FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 
Important Notice and information
Governing Laws and Rules: A.R.S. § 32-3001 et. seq. and A.A.C. R4-39-101 through R4-39-603
Board Communications: Communications between the State Board and the Licensee are primarily through email; therefore, it is critical that the State Board is kept current with accurate email addresses. Please consider all emails from the State Board as “important” and needs your immediate attention.

E-Licensing through the new online portal:  The State has been actively working to modernize the way we serve the citizens and taxpayers of Arizona.  In May 2018, the Our Digitize Arizona was deployed.  It is the goal of e-Licensing to move services online and enhance our applications to be more user friendly.  This will help citizens more easily access the services they need and allow the State to do business better and faster.

As a Licensee of the Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education, you now have a user account in the State of Arizona’s e-Licensing system.  Beginning in May 2018, all applications, renewals, service requests (supplemental license applications for new programs, new/change of location, change of ownership) and payments will now be managed through this online system.  

To activate your account, please follow the instructions below:

Step 1: Go to https://elicense.az.gov/
Step 2: Select “Login/Create your Account”

Step 3: Click “I have a License”

Step 4: Complete Self Registration

· Enter Security Code exactly as it appears (email Kevin.LaMountain@azppse.gov for token code)

· For future logins, your username is your email address

e Renewal Notification:  You will be notified 120 days prior to the expiration date of the license through the e-Licensing system.  Detailed instructions and all forms are on the website.

There is a $100 a day late fee after the license renewal deadline. License Renewals are due approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license. 

Reporting Forms: Please go to the State Board’s website and  use the latest forms as the forms often change.
Meeting Schedules/State Board Information: The current meeting schedule and all pertinent information can be found on the State Board’s website.
Operational Practices: In our ongoing attempt to assist you in maintaining compliance with State Board licensing requirements, the following is a summary of licensing requirements governing operations, practices and the requirements for notification of institutional changes. It is essential that management understands and enforces the national and state standards governing private postsecondary educational institutions.
All educational and business practices must be in compliance with the standards set forth by State Board statutes and rules and if accredited, your accrediting agency.  It is very important that all advertising, pricing, and recruiting activities adhere to the guidelines set forth by the State Board and if accredited, your accrediting agency.
As a rule, prohibited activities include, but are not limited to, the following:

· Price discounting

· Advertising for students in the Help Wanted sections of the newspaper and magazines

· Use of the word “free” or “guarantee” in printed materials or advertising copy

· Guarantee of student placement

· Guarantee of student housing

· Misrepresentation of educational offerings or available student services

· Use of financial aid as an inducement to enroll

Specific questions regarding prohibited activities should be addressed to the State Board Staff.
It is your responsibility as an educator and business person to ensure that all institutional activities represent a level of integrity benefiting both the educational institution and the students served.

Institutional Changes: Private Postsecondary educational institutions must notify the State Board, in a timely manner, of substantive institutional changes. These include, but are not limited to, the following:
· Changes in the Enrollment Agreement

· Changes in the Catalog

· Changes in the Programs

· Changes in the Educational Resources

· Changes in the Equipment

· Changes in the Administrative Personnel and Faculty

· Changes in Organizational Structure and/or Governance

· Changes in Financial Condition

· Changes in Status of Accreditation

· Changes in Federal Financial Eligibility

By State Law, certain changes must be approved by the State Board PRIOR TO THE CHANGE OCCURING. These changes require formal notification and the submission of a new supplemental application.

The following is a summary for notification:

· Non-substantive Changes: Tuition/fee charges, @ 25% or less programmatic changes, etc: Requires the submission of the Non-Substantive Change form

· Addition of a new Vocational Program, new Degree Program, or a significant revision to a Licensed Program: Requires a submission of a “Supplemental License Application for a New Vocational Program Or Degree-Granting Program”. Filing fee: $500.00
· Addition of a new Location or an Additional Location: Requires submission of a “Supplemental License Application for a Change/New Location”. Filing Fee; $500.00
· Institutional Name Change: Requires submission of a “Supplemental License Application for a Name Change”. Filing Fee: No Charge
· Addition of a Degree Program for a Licensed Vocational Institution that does not hold a License to grant Degrees: Requires submission of a complete, new Application.  The State Board must be contacted in advance in order to receive the correct application (the application is NOT on the website).  Filing Fee: $800.00
· Change of Ownership: Does not require prior approval, but any transfer of an ownership or beneficial interest of more than 10% must be reported to the State Board within 7 days.  All other ownership changes will require the submission of a “Supplemental License Application for a Change of Ownership”. Filing Fee: $500.00
Please refer to Rule R4-39-102 for the licensing time frames. To assist you with licensure procedures and time frames, the State Board staff is available to answer any questions you may have.

Contact Information for State Board Staff

Student Records/General Information
Rachel Kierce, Administrative Assistant







Rachel.kiercel@azppse.gov; 602-542-5715
Licensing/License Renewals


Licensing Department
Licensingmanager@azppse.gov; 602-542-5720
Records Manager/Closed Schools

Kevin LaMountain






Kevin.LaMountain@azppse.gov; 602-542-5716
Complaints/Licensing



Keith Blanchard, Dep. Director/Investigator







Keith.blanchard@azppse.gov; 602-542-5769
Licensing/Compliance/Board Info

Teri Stanfill, Executive Director

Student Tuition Recovery Fund

Teri.stanfill@azppse.gov; 602-542-2399
The Office of the Arizona State Board for Private Postsecondary Education appreciates your continued attention to Arizona licensure requirements.

